Tinder has become a go-to social app to easily meet people near you. But sometimes when you’re playing sporadically, your matches list of cards can pile up and get outdated.
You may also have decided that you don’t want to connect with a match anymore. It is possible to delete the match in that case. Follow the steps below that show you how to delete matches on Tinder. Note that it is only possible to delete matches (or “unmatch” them in other words) when you are already matched with someone.
Step 1: Open the Matches screen.
The first step is to open the Matches screen. This screen is accessible by swiping from the right. You can also tap on the chat balloon that sits on the top right corner of your app screen to bring up this page. The screen should show you a list of all your matches arranged by date and show you the last line of conversation you had with the person.
Step 2: Find the profile you want to delete
Next you will need to open the profile of the match you want to delete. One way of finding the profile is by typing the name of the person in the Search bar. You will find the Search bar at the top of the screen on the Matches page. In case you can’t remember the name of the person, you can scroll down to search through all your Matches until you find the profile you are looking for.
Step 3: Delete the Match
Open the profile of the Match and tap the icon located on the top right hand corner. This will bring up a menu that contains the option to “Unmatch”. Hit the option and you will be able to block that person from messaging you again. The profile will disappear from your Matches list. You will also disappear from their Matches list. Unmatching on Tinder is a permanent action, and you won’t be able to undo the action.
Sometimes “Unmatching” can be a way of streamlining your Tinder Matches list and keeping it easy to handle. It is useful to turn off Discovery from the Settings Panel (the Gear icon on the top left) and Discovery Preferences, to stop your profile from being shown to new people.
Step 4: (Alternative) Delete the Account
If you want to delete all your Matches before you stop using Tinder or want to start playing Tinder all over again with new Matches after a period of inactivity, there is another alternative. You can delete you account to delete all your existing Matches.
You can delete your account by navigating to the Settings pane on the app and selecting the App Settings. On the menu that pops up, scroll down and find the Delete Account option. You will receive a notification letting you know that the account has been successfully deleted.
Note that deleting the app from your phone will keep the Matches in storage for the next time you download the app again. Only if you delete the account can you permanent lose all your Matches. Also, deleting the app or your account will not cancel your Tinder Plus subscription, if you have signed up for it.